Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the dress code of employees is not necessary, it is simply because it does not affect the quality of their production. In my point of view, I agree with this opinion, however, it does not also show off the professionalism and respect of staff as well as formal clothes. On the one hand, employees do not need to care about clothes when they go to company. Firstly, it will make them more happy and motivated when they wear their favourite attire. Furthermore, they can wear normal dresses, which will make them more comfortable. For example, employees work in a private environment and spend most of their time on a computer or laptop, comfortable clothes are easier to work in and make them more relaxed. On the other hand, uniforms play a key role in service industries such as healthcare services or restaurants. Formal wear or uniform shows professionalism and respect for customers and clients will also realize waiters or waitresses faster, thus saving time and effort. Besides, it is fair for staff in the company and it is not indiscriminate poor or rich, so make staff more confident when they trial. Hence, a certain type of job like receptionist requires people to dress properly so it cannot worsen the company’s productivity. In conclusion, although one’s clothing preference or dress code at task does not directly influence productivity, its relevance is worth considering depending on the nature of production.