Some parents think children should have mobile phones, others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The ever-evolving state of technology comes with mass market adoption that have allowed itself to be accessible to anyone of all ages, including children. This level of mass adoption as well as proliferation of technological capabilities moves at a speed that is forced to be reckoned with, and due to this, some well-meaning parents are of the opinion that children should have a limited access to the use of mobile phones, while the rest have no qualms about their children owning the very same device. Parents who are against the idea of children having ownership of their own mobile phones have well-meaning intentions. It is usually due to trust, not because they don't trust their children, but simply that they do not trust what the internet has to offer for them. Technology embedded in mobile phones, in its purest form, is a state of art device that allows people to connect to people across geopgraphical boundaries and look up information in a milisecond that one would likely not encounter as easily in the libraries. But it would be naive to not also acknowledge the dangers of this much accessibility through the touch of your fingertips such as misleading information, exposure to adult content, and a mix of other contents that kids are better off not knowing at that stage of their life. It should be said that as with all dangers, exposure to these content and information is perfectly mitigatable, with the right precaution and adult supervision. The need for constant direct safeguarding and physical monitoring is exactly why some parents are reluctant to assign these rectangular devices for their children to have complete access and freedom for. However, on the flipside of things, there is another demography of parents who allow such devices to be owned by children. Often deemed as a callous choice, the decision to provide one's children are usually based off of the fact that the parents trust that their children will be able to learn and be more agile by virtue of exposure. By providing their children with the platform to explore and see for themselves, as well as with appropriate safeguarding, little by little it is the parent's hope that their kids will be able to independently course through their life and self-correct their life trajectory from a self-developed ability to tell right from wrong. And from this judgment, what might seem like a tactless counterintuitive parenting could actually be productive in allowing children to learn the ropes by themselves. All in all, regardless if a parent chooses to provide their children access to mobile devices or not is merely a question of how little or much safeguarding is necessary when it comes to technological exposure for their offsprings. I am of the opinion that at this day and age, children who have developed the ability to read, speak, and comprehend other people's words should be allowed the privilege of owning a mobile phone. Especially with the inherent safeguards that a lot of technological developers have put in place in their respective system, technology can arguably provide children access to more good than harm.