As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction?How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Job satisfaction plays an important role in workers' well-being. I believe, to feel satisfied at work, a person needs to do what they love and also make a positive impact on other people's lives. Sadly, it is totally unrealistic to expect job satisfaction for all workers. A key factor in job satisfaction is whether a person's job coincides with their passion. When people are pursuing careers they love, they always look forward to going to work in the morning rather than living for the weekend. They tend to view difficult tasks as opportunities to learn and develop rather than as sources of stress. This can be best illustrated by scientists who work long hours and encounter countless failures in their research yet still find fulfillment in their work. Job satisfaction can also be affected by the impact you have on other people's lives. Take software engineers. The products they build may be used by people all over the world, making people's lives better in some way, perhaps easier or more productive. How exciting! Unfortunately, it is completely impossible for all workers to have a satisfying job. This is because many of them refuse to change. They would rather stay in a job they hate than put in the effort to reskill to get a better one. They would expect their employers to raise their pay and improve their working conditions but do nothing to become more valuable employees. All they could get is low- paying, physically-demanding jobs, which would never give them much, if any, satisfaction. In conclusion, What contribute most to job satisfaction could be whether or not a person is doing something they are passionate about and whether or not their job role allows them to make a positive impact on other people's lives. Unfortunately, satisfaction at work cannot be guaranteed for everyone because many people are too lazy to change the status quo. (315 Words)