In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the prevalence of advertisements, selling the product as brand new has become a widely debated topic. Many people believe that the main cause is to increase sales volume. Given that introducing new products can promote creativity and simulate economic development, I strongly believe that advertising new products is a good development. For a start, in an ever-changing society, people are generally living with a high quality of life. Together with the rising wave of materialism, people love and enjoy buying new things. Thus, businesses create new products over a certain period of time to attract the public to purchase them again. One striking example is "I Phone" from the Apple company; they update the version of cellphones every year and they are sold incredibly well. Moreover, using a new product can increase the sense of superiority because it seems only rich people can buy it frequently. And thus, businesses must enforce the production of new products to earn more money. While many believe that producing new things is not environmentally friendly and creates unnecessary trash, others maintain that it can enhance creativity. For instance, manufacturers are required to design new styles or new functions in order to attract consumers. Since a series of productions, from design to selling in the shop, involve lots of different industries, it could undoubtedly stimulate economic development. To conclude the reason for producers to sell new products is to boost sales volume and earn more money. The advantages of promoting creativity and helping economic development are obvious, but the disadvantages brought by it should not be ignored.