Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is normal for university students to specialise in one particular subject, but some of them think that they should be able to take a wide range of subjects in addition to their chosen one. This essay will look at both viewpoints, then suggest that, although there are some benefits to be gained from additional subjects, students should probably focus on their majors. Students could certainly benefit from taking other subjects in addition to their specialist one because having a wide range of knowledge is very important, particularly at that stage in life. Even if a student wants to study something like dentistry, it could still be beneficial to do some additional classes to help them become a more well-rounded person, such as an occasional lesson in philosophy, literature, or history. However, students go to university to prepare for their working life by learning really important things from a very particular field, and additional subjects might be an unwelcome distraction. If that dental student was forced to take philosophy classes, the extra pressure and effort might cause them to fail a dentistry exam, and possibly even drop out of their course. It seems that any benefits that come from taking extra classes would be mitigated by the potential problems caused, and so it is really not worth implementing this sort of system unless the additional classes were quite closely related to the primary subject, in which case there may be some extra benefits that would balance out the negatives. In conclusion, it is not a good idea to give students a wide range of classes in addition to their chosen subject, but they may benefit from having some extra lessons to provide them with a slightly wider range of knowledge.