Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people claim that strict punishments are efficient in reducing traffic accidents. However, some popular belief is that there should be other measures to enhance road safety. On the one hand, it is generally claimed that severe sanctions avoid or would most likely diminish road casualty. Indeed the fact that those who know the consequences such as fines or for the worst: jail, should be scared to end up in these circumstances. If they are afraid they would pay more attention and respect the norms. The sterner the punishments are the greater the chances drivers would follow the rules. In the world, we are all citizens. As citizens, we all have rights like we have duties. In order to live in a society, every single person should respect their duties and the tasks of others. It is a simple basic behavior. On the other hand, every year, traffic accidents keep increasing but there are many ways to improve this situation. Firstly, kids should be taught at a very young age, at school, the road safety as a driver but also as a pedestrian and the danger it has. Teachers or parents should raise awareness among these children about how they need to respect the rules established. It is often thought that if a child is not educated to follow rules he will most likely bend them and initiate others to do so. Secondly, the driver's license is not equal for everyone. In developing countries, some take advantage of corruption. Thirdly, the traffic system should be modernized. There should be more surveillance cameras or alcohol tests… Finally, governments and city halls should encourage people to use less their cars to be able to limit car crashes. While I agree that severe sanctions lower the risk of mishaps, I believe that other measures are just as important.