Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree

It is believed that a jury ought to be provided all the information about the past facts of offender. While this may work to a certain extent, I would argue that this issue also has dark sides. On the one hand, the idea of all the past criminal record should be refer to tribunal is justifiable. When all data is presented to the jury, they will calculate and consider carefully before making a decision. Provided with all the information, the trial panel will have a more objective view to reach the final decision. For instance, Nguyen Van An was unfairly convicted because thw judge judged the case subjectively, leading to An being unjustly imprisioned for 8 years and being exonerated on April 10 last year, althought he was absolved, this was also a significant disadvantage for him as he had to endure 8 years in prison. As a result, it seems sensable that the jury should be given all the past facts of the criminal. On the other hand, in my point of view, to protect criminals interests, providing criminal record to a judge is not advisable. The retionale is that if the trial panel is not truthful, the law-breaker may be wrongfully convicted. When all information is revealed, the opposing side can bribe a jury with offers of money to get the data, thereby finding reasons to refute that evidences, which will be extremely detrimental for the lawyer, who defends criminal. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies this siuation, on November 1, six years ago, a woman suffered domestic violence from her husband and sued him, after knowing the information brought to the jury, he corrupted the adjudicator and the wife was unjustly convicted, it was not until 5 years later that she was exonerated and the court, lawyer and husband as well as those involved received legal punishment. Therefore, the jury should not be offered the criminal’s past. In conclusion, while others argue that the tribunal should be provided all record of the law-breaker's facts to reach a fair decision, I believe that all information ought to be kept confidential so that criminals are not wrongfully convicted.