Some people think the use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extend do agree or disagree?

The mobile phone has become our latest appendage. Some people think these devices should be banned in certain places, similar to smoking, as they are considered antisocial. However, I completely disagree with this opinion. In my opinion, using mobile devices in social spaces does not have the same negative effects as smoking on society. Smoking is forbidden in certain places because it considerably damages citizens’ health and leads to fatal respiratory diseases. Conversely, unlike cigarettes and tobacco, smartphones do nothing to damage individuals’ health, as these are technological items which do not release harmful chemicals. In fact, most people criticize the usage of handsets because of the noise individuals make while using mobile phones in open areas or the reduced direct interaction caused by the usage of these communication devices in some social occasions. However, these concerns cannot justify the claim that the use of mobile devices is as antisocial as smoking. Therefore, it is wrong to compare the use of mobile phones with smoking. Furthermore, it is not sensible to prohibit the usage of mobile phones in certain places. For one thing, it leads to inconvenience. Nowadays, not only do people use their mobile phones to keep in contact with their family and friends, but also to pay bills. This means the ban on handsets in open areas will bring individuals unexpected troubles. For another, With the rise of mobile technology, a significant portion of retail transactions, including e-commerce, is conducted through smartphones. A ban could disrupt these transactions, affecting businesses that heavily depend on online sales. It would cause many negative effects on e-commerce and online transactions. In conclusion, I do believe that banning smartphones in certain social spaces like smoking is not inappropriate.