In many countries around the worls life expectancy is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

In a lot of countries across the globe the life expectancy is becoming higher. In this essay both positive and negative effects that come with that trend will be discussed. One of the advantages is taken from an ethical side. Higher life expectancy means that an average person will get to witness more events, emotions in their life: the wedding of their own kids, the birth of a grandson or a granddaughter. The ability to live long is a highly placed goal, which exists despite the fact that extra experiences that are provided will only provoke positive emotions, for example happiness or satisfaction - it also may trigger adverse feelings, such as more sadness, depression, fear, etc. This desire has always existed in most members of various societies and is one thing that brings together many cultures, religions and nations together. On the other hand, the increased life expectancy leads to more money being spent on people, who have already filled their potential and cannot work in the future. This happens because as we age further, our body become less mobile. Other adverse effects include, but are not limitted to, the degradation of cognitive functions (communication, analysis, memory). All these effects accumulate over time and make an old person unable to work and, hence, earn money. This means that unless the elder has their own accumulated cash in their financial accounts, the government or the younger generation of family have to help them with bills and expenses. For instance, the money spent in this way could have instead been invested into the education of teens and children which can potentially invent new technologies and solve global issues in the long run. As a result, the increased life expectancy may slow down the scientific and humanitarian progresses of our civilisation. In conclusion, the advantage present above is more significant, because the strive to live longer will always be present and appreciated to a high degree, possibly due to the survival instinct of the human species.