Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Even though smoking is fashionable among the young and old today, it has detrimental effects on society. Smoking in public has a negative impact on the health of smokers, and those around them, not only that but also, on the economy of the country. Therefore, I wholeheartedly agree with banning smoking in open spaces. First, when considering the health issues caused by smoking in public spaces, researchers have proven that both smokers and non- smokers have the same risk, or passive smokers have a higher risk than smokers. For instance, pregnant women who hang out in public areas such as public transport, bus stations, markets, and restaurants inhale polluted air emitted by smokers, which affects both herself and the foetus through the placenta. It causes for birth defects. According to the latest health statistics, lung cancer is the second most common cancer worldwide. Smoking is the leading cause of carcinoma in the respiratory system. In addition, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, asthma, and bronchitis like diseases are aggravated by inhaling cigarette smoke. Due to this, the government must invest more funds to treat lung diseases. Moreover, when smoking is seen in public, teenagers tend to experiment with it. It is responsible for a collapse in education, and it also indirectly affects the future of the country. To sum up, taking in to account above, it is crucial that smoking be outlawed in public places. In my opinion, smoking should be prohibited in public areas by law and enforced against those who violate it. Banning the smoking in public is a social and national investment.