Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that reading books is far more beneficial for children than watching television or playing computer games. Personally, I completely agree with this opinion and will analyze the issue in the following essay. To begin with, children can better improve their imagination through reading books as opposed to watching television or playing computer games. By reading stories, children have to use their imagination to visualize all the events described in the book. While reading, they will create images, thoughts and opinions in their mind, and therefore enhance their imagination and creativity. Meanwhile, this can hardly be the case for watching television, as it already provides the viewers with vibrant colourful images and sounds. Consequently, it is reasonable to say that reading books helps to improve children ’s imagination compared to watching television or playing computer games. Additionally, reading stories from a book also develops children ’s verbal abilities more so than watching television or playing computer games. Children are exposed to a wide range of vocabulary and sentence structures when reading, and therefore reading books can provide great opportunities for children to advance their ability to describe things, which leads to better writing skills. Meanwhile, rather than text, sound and image are the two key elements(6) of television and computer games, which does little to improve children ’s vocabulary. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the advantages of reading books far outweigh those of watching television or playing computer games as this activity helps to enhance both imagination and language ability.