70.The government has the duty to ensure that its citizens have a healthy diet, while others believe this is individuals’ responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some say that the government are the ones that should ensure that the people living in their country have a healthy diet, while others would argue that this is the responsibility of the individuals. This essay would argue that although the government can promote healthy practices, the individuals, themselves, are the ones responsible for what they eat. On the one hand, the government has a duty to protect the health of its citizens by implementing policies and regulations that promote healthy practices. Taking measures that ensure that the products that are sold in the nation are safe and healthy, so cases of diseases and illness can be reduced. For example, the government can enforce regulations on food labelling and advertising, so individuals are able to know about the ingredients used, and make sure if there is something that they can’t eat. However, I believe that the government only carry out activities to advise citizens, but the main work should be done by individuals. On the other hand, individuals are responsible for what they eat. This is because the government cannot make sure that everyone is having a healthy diet since there are millions of people in a country. Also, there are many advertisements and news which tell people what healthy foods and which products are recommended to eat less, and some individuals do not care about and this causes diseases and illness. For example, there has been an increase in cases of diabetes because of the large amount of people eating fast food. These individuals know that fast food is not good for their bodies, but they still eat it. In my opinion, nobody can stop others from doing something that they want, so people, themselves should be in charge of having a healthy diet. In conclusion, although the government can advise citizens about what they should eat and what not, is the individual who decides if they want to listen or not, and they are the ones that should be aware of what they eat.