86.In many countreis, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that in many nations, individuals are living for a longer time. This essay would argue that despite the government's need to spend more money, it increases job opportunities, which means that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks. One significant disadvantage is that the government need to spend more money on healthcare and social welfare systems. This is because when people get older, they need more medical attention and support services, which can strain public healthcare resources. This can reduce the funds that the government has, and start reducing the expenses in other areas. For instance, Japan, which has many elderly people, has faced rising healthcare costs due to a growing number of old citizens. However, I believe that the government through taxes and other sources have always received enough money, so this is not a significant drawback. However, it is also advantageous to the society. One of the most notable benefits is the increase in job opportunities, this is because normally when people get older, they have to go to hospitals and nursing homes, so an increasing number of people specialized in this area will be needed, and this causes that more people have a job and fewer individuals will suffer of poverty. For instance, in the last decades many cities in China started to recruit nurses specialized in taking care of elderly people, decreasing the unemployment rate. I’m of the opinion that the growing amount of elderly people has too many advantages. In conclusion, although the government need to invest more money in public healthcare, there will be more job opportunities so fewer people need to suffer from hunger, for these reasons, the positives far outnumber the negatives.