A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Thanks to the advancement in the transportation facilities, the scope of tourism has increased immensely. Some countries rely on tourism as a major generator of wealth while there are certain drawbacks such as destruction of local environment; however, in my opinion the advantages outnumber the disadvantages. Some places have unique characterstics like being historical monuments or exotic scenery which attracts people from different parts of the world. The tourists visiting these places spend money there by buying products and services. Locals can also earn money by working as tourist guides. The tourism industry also indirectly boosts the related sectors like travel industry and helps in improvement of infrastructutre. Aslo many times there will be certain entry fee to visit any historical structure. The income generated by this means will be helpful in preserving those monuments for future generations. On the other hand people living in places where tourism industry is not developped will not be able to benefit from such opportunities. On the other hand, if the tourist location is not managed properly, it can cause deleterious effect on the ecology of that place. The demand for increased accomodation can lead to the construction of more hotels and often this causes the destruction of forests. This disturbs the balance in the environment and might lead to the extinction of rare flora and fauna. Some famous places which attract tourists are situated in places where the local people have unique language and culture. The locals often have to deal with foreign visitors leading to acculturation which can result in the erosion of indigenous cultures. To conclude, tourism is a vital sector that generates employment opportunities and boosts national economy. However, it is important to address important issues like ecological destruction with proper planning. On balance, I believe the advantages of promoting tourism outweigh the downsides.