Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

Many people believe that music can connect people from diverse cultures and generations together. I totally agree because people can feel closer by enjoying music together and it is a medium that helps people understand each other better. The main reason why I agree is because enjoying music allows different types of people to bond. This is because people from different cultures and ages can enjoy listening to similar genres of music together and through this fun shared experience they can feel closer. For instance, at New Year large groups of people, of different cultures and ages, can count down the New Year and sing Auld Lang Syne together, and this can be a great bonding experience and break down barriers between people. After singing it is common to see people of different ages and nationalities hugging each other and genuinely wishing each other well-being and prosperity in the New Year. Consequently, it’s clearly evident, at this time, that people feel closer and more connected despite differences. I also believe that music can increase the understanding between different cultures and generations. This is because when a person listens to the preferred music genre of another group of people they can know more about that group of people. For instance, when I listened to the famous Australian folksong called Waltzing Matilda, I was able to understand Australian culture so much more. Moreover, I could understand the struggles that previous generations faced in Australia. This increased my understanding of Australians and older generations and made me empathise with them, and understand why they behave in certain ways. Consequently, this increased my ability to bond with them. In conclusion, I completely believe that music can bring different types of people closer together. This is because fun shared experiences lead to bonding and increased understanding of others leading to empathy and an increased ability to bond. Therefore, I believe music should be used more as a way to break down barriers amongst different types of people.