Some people believe that the best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that raising gasoline prices is the most effective way to address environmental issues. This essay disagrees with this statement because it will lead to inflation and lower income level residents will suffer greatly. In addition, this policy will not change peoples’ habits instantly. Increasing the price of fuels will impact the production and transportation expense of goods in general and this will lead to inflation. The manufacturer will increase their goods prices because they spend more budget to produce and to distribute the goods to the markets. This increasing expense will be charged to end consumers, and raising prices to the vast majority of goods will cause inflation. For example, those who earn below the average, will face difficulties to afford things they need, they should pay more for the same product while their incomes remain the same. Thus their affordability is declining and so is their welfare. Another reason is this measure will not directly change peoples’ lifestyles. People drive their private vehicles to their workplaces because there is not adequate public transportations. Individuals whose incomes are above the average, will not be directly affected because they have more remaining income to be allocated in this growing cost. Thus they will still drive their own cars and produce more carbon emissions. For instance, when Indonesia’s government decided to increase the gasoline prices by 2015, there was not a significant decrease of private cars on the roads in the following months. In conclusion, setting a higher price to fuel is not an excellent answer to the environmental challenges because it induces inflation and this only affects some populations’ life, not really changing the rest to be more environmentally conscious.