Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What do you think is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In many states, young adults spend their time to purchase goods as the most popular entertainment activity. This essay believes that this lifestyle is influenced by social media content which eases marketing and buying activity and also leads to negative effects in overspending. Nowadays, purchasing goods is the most common leisure activity for young adults caused by social media influence. The majority of people have social media and consume visual content every day, which is super addicting and fun to do. They spend their time lying down, watching content incorporated by marketing strategies made by some influencers. Some platforms also provide one-click away to buy the goods. This practical and convenient way leads them to purchase while enjoying free time. For instance, while scrolling through Instagram, there is content made by famous people, displaying cute outfits and tagging the shops. Shopping as a leisure activity has a negative impact. Young people tend to follow the trend and they fear missing out, consequently, they may buy impulsively unimportant or overpriced things. Some content creators make exaggerated reviews about the products, and people tend to believe and want to experience them themselves. This activity leads to being consumptive. For instance, in seasonal brand fashion trends, younger people purchase specific super small bags because everyone wears them, not because they serve the purpose. In conclusion, shopping has become the most common entertainment activity because of the massive amount of social media exposure, its marketing content and its convenience for home delivery. This essay views that this brings a negative impact such as increasing consumerism.