In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some people that increasing number of older generations can be a an problemetic issue for the government, while others argue that it is beneficial to have more elderly people in society. I believe older people can advantage society by sharing their experiences and creating more employment opportunities for others, whereas spending a significant amount of money on their health and wellbeing can disadvantage the government. The older population needs other people to take care of them since with age, they start to face physical disabilities and mental health issues. Even though the government paid for their health problems, they need extra financial help, which includes a significant amount of money when there are more aging people. For instance, the government has to put more money for the older generation in their budget and reduce money for some other important aspects. Furthermore, having consistent health issues requires them to stay in the hospital for a longer period of time, which can occupy more spaces in hospitals and leave less space for others who really need medical assistance. Although an increasing number of older people can have some disadvantages, it is considered by many that the older population can benefit society in many ways. Older people have years of experience and knowledge provided that these knowledgeable experiences can be educative and helpful for young generations in many ways. The government can utilize this experienced older population to educate young people and learn from those experiences. For example, learning from experiences and training can help in any emergency situation to find the proper solution. Moreover, having more elderly people requires more caregivers for them, which can create more job opportunities for younger people. To conclude, older population can bring lots of benefits to society by spreading the knowledge and experiences they have but more aging people can create issues for the government by occupying more facilities.