Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Artificial intelligence increasingly adopted in the car driving facilities in the modern worlds. This is due to advancements in technology and it should be seen as a positive development because it reduces the road accidents. Artificial intelligence is being introduced to many vehicles to reduce the number of road traffic accidents. This is because thousands of people are killed on our roads every year and AI can control cars better than human beings. The software scans oncoming threats using a variety of sensors and can even anticipate collisions before they happen. For example, Google has developed a driverless car and after testing it on public roads, it has only one accident, while driving millions of miles. The same number of miles driven by humans would have resulted in many more serious injuries and fatalities. On the other hand, this should be seen as a negative development because of the number of jobs that will be lost. Automation will always be more attractive to companies and consumers because it is much cheaper than human labour. Drivers account for a large proportion of the workforce in any economy and removing them will result in mass unemployment because they will be replaced by machines. For instance, Uver is developing new driverless taxis that will not require a person to operate them and it estimated that this could lead to around more than hundred thousand taxi and Uber drivers losing their livelihoods in the UK alone. In conclusion, artificial intelligence plays a big role in vehicles automation and development of car features that improve safety driving. This advancement should be welcome because it can help people anticipated risk and danger while driving which will result in reducing the road accidents rates.