Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Recent years have witnessed the environment being seriously endangered by the effects of humans. This essay will discuss the environmental status and the possible measures that both governments and individuals can take to handle this problem. Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste. The large amount of **gas emissions** from factories and **exhaust fumes** from vehicles lead to global warming which has a **devastating** effect on the planet. As the human population increases, we are also producing ever **greater quantities of waste**, which **contaminate**s the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans. Governments could make more efforts to reduce air pollution. They can introduce strict laws to limit emissions from factories or force companies to use renewable energy from water, solar, or wind. Besides, imposing "green taxes” on drivers could encourage people to use public transport rather than private vehicles, thereby reducing emissions. Also, individuals should take responsibility for the impact they have on the environment. We can reduce waste by choosing products with less packaging, instead of using plastic bags and recycling as much as possible. Moreover, applying energy-efficient light bulbs is a smart choice to prevent the increase of the greenhouse phenomenon. Simply, we can flip the light switch off when leaving the room. In conclusion, environmental pollution is causing considerable threats to human lives, and looking after the natural environment is the social responsibility of both national governments and individuals.