Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary societies, the ways being used to visit friends have been changed. Physical relationships have been substituted by online ones. Some argue that this kind of friendship is not valuable. I completely agree with this perspective, and I will elaborate on the reasons behind my viewpoint. Face-to-face relationship has been linked to positive outcomes. Firstly, if two friends want to represent their true emotions, the only method to express those feelings is a physical connection. Consequently, strong friendship cohesion irrevocably aligns with this method. A 2019 experiment conducted by the BBB, assessed the duration of the friendship among two groups, one with online communication and another one with traditional ways. The results revealed that the latter category witnessed an impressive 80% increase in their long-term relationships. Secondly, a number of friendships that have been started on social media platforms are not genuine, resulting in mental health issues. Admittedly, substantial numbers of people are not cognizant of manipulative tactics have been associated with these platforms at the first time. Undoubtedly, if they realize about it, detrimental consequences will happen, such as depression and anxiety. Recent research reported by Cambridge University illustrated a surge in the number of suicides among teenagers by 70% after the popularity of shaping friendships through social media. On the other hand, it is essential to consider the advantages of online relationships. The opportunity to find friends all over the world is a prime example of this. An audit implemented by Aston University, compared the number of distance relationships between two decades, one from 2002 to 2012 and the other one from 2012 to 2022. The results represented a significant increase in the second group by 90%. Notably, substantial potentials through the life may separate friends from each other. Therefore, the sole way to survive their relationships is online communications. To sum up, I acknowledge the benefits of using online platforms for relationships especially for distance one. Notwithstanding, the meaningness of this way of communication is undeniable due to lack of deep emotions and chicanery are being used through them.