Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, road safety has been of serious public concern as people and regulators actively seek for solutions to reduce collision incidence. While banning adolescents of a wider age group from driving may seem like a remedy for traffic safety, such a policy is laden with issues and difficulties in implementation. Thus, I strongly argue against this proposition change in regulation and the discussion below illustrates my opinion. To begin with, age is not regarded as a determinant of roadway dangers. There are many cases in which restricting teenage driving diminishes mobility autonomy. Increasing the legal age for operating motor vehicles makes the young less capable of personal mobility, therefore driving responsibility is shifted to adults in families. Consequently, a lack of time to earn income has arisen, which is not only considered a higher stressor for households but also a discouragement to adolescents from being self-reliant in terms of travel. Furthermore, in numerous instances, teenagers surpass their parents in driving readiness because they possess up-to-date knowledge and find it easier to retain information. Changing the minimum driving age for adolescents fails to guarantee the development of driving ability before growing into adults. Thus, when imposing stricter age restrictions on drivers, many grown-ups might find themselves inadequately equipped to handle real-life traffic scenarios. Additionally, elaborate skills in driving are often derived from extensive practice in problem-solving on the road. Besides, when increasing the legal driving age, regulators are not addressing the greater prominent cause of traffic accidents, which may be the distraction of smart device usage while driving. Ultimately, young age should not be considered as a significant risk factor as distracting mobile devices. In summary, increasing the minimum age to drive would not be a potential solution. In this sense, I firmly oppose the approach of a higher age to get a driving license as my personal belief is that people of all age groups need to be well-educated and equipped with knowledge about traffic rules.