The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 milion vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

British roads, which saw their first car in 1888, now have 29 million vehicles on them. Lately, the introduction of international laws to control car ownership and in favour of alternative means of transportation have been extensively discussed. Overall, I agree with the idea that this is the correct way to move forward. Firstly, if we look at western countries, a prime example on what can go wrong if we do not take actions can be seen in the United States, a country so dependent on private vehicles that the environment, the efficiency of the country and the health of its citizens are paying the price for it. Furthermore, the example of the US, which are yet to implement strong legislation against the car industry, also shows us how timing is crucial. The more we wait, the harder it will be to revert the negative effects this phenomenon is causing. Secondly, when people take the defence of private cars so firmly, the most common arguments are in favour of the comfort and practicality; however, this only comes to show that they have not visited countries like Switzerland. These countries, which were designed with public transport in mind, are testimony of the fact that wealth doesn’t translate in owning a car; moreover, they show that private and public transport can and should coexist. In conclusion, the problem that an increasing amount of private cars is causing should not be underestimated and countermeasures must be taken to limit the damage and ideally find a balance. We should take countries like Switzerland as a model that can teach the world a lesson:” a developed and modern country is not one where the poor have a car, it is a place where the rich do not own one”.