Today, many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problem does this cause? What can be done about this?

There can be no doubt that people not getting on with their neighbours is a problem in large cities. The core factor for this problem is the lack of face-to-face interaction and eventually people will become ignorant toward each others yet it can be countered by making social meetups for the citizens. It is self evident that many people don't know about thei the neighbours because they never meet them directly. The main cause for this problem is the fact that more people are using the internet to stay in contact with their friends thus making them lose the skill to communicate with strangers. As a result, residents will become less aware of the people around them and create more selfish individuals which can have a bad effect to the social communities. Perhaps a solution to this problem is to hold events for neighbours to go outside. The most efficient method is to cut the electricity in one particular area once in a while so that neighborhood can have a public meeting outside without using any sort of technology. Subsequently, neighbours will have opportunities to meet and talk about each others' life and career. This approach has been proven to be effective in Vietnam as more people tend to learn about their surrounding after a cut in electricity happens in their living place. In conclusion, many people do not know about their neighbours as they rely on modern devices to communicate which can cause ignorance between citizens. Therefore this essay has demonstrated clear points to why making people go out of their houses is a great way to tackle the problem.