Today, many people do not know their neighbors in large citites. What problems does this cause ? What can be done about this ?

Lack of knowledge about surrounding people is considered to be severe in cities. This can cause irritation while living with each other, as well as not getting any help from others, yet this can be solved by organising more social activities for the neighbourhood. The obvious consequence that not knowing anyone in the neighbourhood is frustration while sharing the living area. It is self-evident that as we are leading an insensitive lifestyle, we will form a self-centered personality, in other words, only live for yourself. When we are selfish in our daily life, we will definetely not know about things that our neighbours want or hate, resulting in doing things that people do not like, causing irritation between individuals. The fact has shown that in Ho Chi Minh City, over 60% of people who are not satisfied with their living conditions all blame for their neighbours do not know their regulations. In addition, being self-centered, aside from causing frustration for others also make them unable to get any help from the community. Without any relationship with neighbours, the individual will soon be isolated with the neighbourhood since the people around will know nothing about the person unless he or she make some contact with the others. Therefore, it leads to being unsupported in many situations. For example, it will be much harder for a person with no connection with neighbours to go repair a motorbike than those who have. Perhaps the simplest solution for the issue is the manager of the residential area have to hold more social activities to bond people. By organising more activities that engages all dwellers in the neighbourhood, people will start to know each other more, hence reducing the rate of lack of relationship between neighbours. In fact, many cities has applied the method such as Ha Noi, successfully reducing the rate of being self-centered by two third. In conclusion, lack of awareness about surrounding dwellers can cause exasperation for the others and make people to be isolated from the community, but can be solved by increasing the number of social activities. Thus, applying the method can improve people ’s awareness of neighbours significantly.