Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment ? What can be done by individuals and government to solve this problem ?

Plastic -made products have been proven to have detrimental effects on the Earth, and this issue is creating a great concern about the future of the world. This essay attempts to address the damages done to the environment by plastic and provides some feasible solutions to tackle the matter. To begin with, out of a plethora of problems caused by plastic items, the most significant is that it reduces the fertility of the soil. This is because it is a non-biodegradable substance and can remain unchanged inside the soil for years and disturbs the natural cyclic process of crops and land. Research done by the National Agriculture Department of India says that the plastic products that we use on a daily basis can worsen the soil's fertility by 37%. Furthermore, another hazardous effect of this material is on water and its creatures. The reason is that if it is dumped into seas or rivers, it pollutes the water and hampers the breathing processes of aqueous animals. Thus, this dangerous substance damages land as well as water. Although these issues can not be solved completely, there are some preventive measures that can help to reduce the negative effects. First and foremost, the authorities should put a ban on unnecessary plastic items like polythene bags and plastic straws to decrease their usage. For example, the Gujarat government put a ban on polythene bags in 2019. This step decreased the plastic usage of the whole state by 9%. Additionally, people should be made more aware of the toxicity of plastic and its recycling process as well. This can be achieved via awareness campaigns, flash mobs, dramas, and so on. In conclusion, plastic is certainly a dangerous material for soil and aquatic life. Subsequently, to reduce its adverse effects, the ministry should put some restrictions on plastic usage and make citizens woke of its demerits.