In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, some countries have grown a specific interest in developing the quality of transportation sectors. Some people argue that it is important to upgrade existing public transport, while others believe that expanding the mass transport lines is more vital. This essay will explain both sides of this view and I believe that spending more money to build new networks and transportation modes is preferred because of the rising demands from society. On the one hand, the government should spend a partial budget on infrastructure to enhance the current public transportation. This is because public transit needs to be maintained due to the significant daily usage that might affect the trains’ or buses’ performances. For instance, the old subway and the existing train networks should be given a substantial amount of budget from the local authorities to maintain and ensure the quality of the infrastructure itself. Otherwise, passengers’ safety would be threatened. However, the new construction of other routes for mass-rapid transportation should be considered. An increasing population and the developing trend of urbanization make both urban and suburban areas urgently need a proper quantity of mass transportation. Taking Indonesia as an example of this, the local government of Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia, has built an inter-connected electric rail train to accommodate commuted citizens from other cities nearby Jakarta. As a result, there has been a high demand due to the citizen’s needs and preferences in using public transport nowadays. To sum up, the enhancement of existing transport modes is predominant to maintain the quality of the public transportation facilities. On the other side, investing in newer networks and routes will grab bigger needs and unlock other economic opportunities from all over the city.