Today, many people do not know their neghbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

Today, with the ongoing development of technology, many people living in large metropolitan areas are disconnected from their neighbours and make no effort to get to know them. This essay will cite problems that this causes and suggest methods to combat them. It must be understood that a community is built on the personal relationships, hence when neighbours do not interact with eachother, the community would feel soulless, as there are not any link between the people of that community. As a result, communities will slowly lose their identities, Furthermore, when a person actively avoids speaking with the people living beside them is often viewed as unsocialble, selfish and suspicious. This is true in Japan, where it is traditional for newly arrived inhabitants to meet and greet their neighbours with gifts to introduce themselves, if they refused to do so, they will be shunted from the community and excluded from communal events. However, there are many ways to mitigate this problem. Firstly, many people attribute their fast paced lifestyles for not getting to know their neighbours better, this is a credible point as workers in the modern age are put under an enoumous amount of stress from work, family and social responsibilities. However, workers only need to spend a few minutes of their time to build a stable relationship. Secondly, the community can organize events for people on national holidays, in order to give people the opportunity to have a nice chat, play games together and have fun. For instance, During Tet, the community can hold a new year's party and invite everyone to come. Lastly, people are becoming more and more reliant on social media to meet new people, so much so that they often overlook the people living next door, thus we should promote face to face interactions more. Taking everything into consideration, neighbours are currently not making any efforts to get to know each other is a major issue. Hence, this essay has shown the effects and proposed ways of mitigating this issue.