In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Today in some countries, there is a suggestion for young people to have one-year gap between graduating from high school and starting an academic study, in which they can earn some experience from working or traveling. There would be some advantages and disadvantages for young individuals who pick this method that I will talk about them here. Entering the labor market is an opportunity for young people to earn money and become independent from their families. They can leave their parents’ house and take a step forward to the adulthood. In addition, this experience allows them to decide which field of study is suitable for them and what exactly they want to do in their future career. Also, this one-year gap is a golden time for them to travel around the country or even the world. Obviously, after starting university and starting a new job, there will not be such a time for them to explore the world. I mean traveling at young ages with the highest energy and the least responsibility. On the other hand, they will fall behind their peers who continue their university education right after high school. Also, it will be difficult for them to adapt with the academic environment after they are back. Some of them may experience a failure in education due to the gap of one year between high school and university. Furthermore, it is possible that these young individuals decide to continue their current way of life and never get an academic education. This not only has a negative effect on their lives, but also it is not suitable for the society because of the decrease in the number of educated people. In conclusion, however traveling or working may be useful for enhancement of experience, joining university without any gap seems to have more advantages for the young people.