Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is often thought that studying in a single-sex school provides children with the chance to excel academically, other people claim that students tend to be more social when they study in a different-sex school. In my opinion, I consider that studying in a co-education environment provides students with more benefits. On the one hand, according to some, same-sex schools help students perform well in academics because they may be able to relax when people around them are the same gender. That is to say, children who are surrounded by the same sex would not feel the differences from others; therefore, they could have the freedom to express themselves be comfortable. For example, in a class discussion, female students can express their views comfortably unlike when they are grouped together with male students. Thus, student can enjoy a similar learning environment which push them to do better. Furthermore, it is maintained that children could pay more attention on study. This is because they would be attracted easily by different genders which would influence their studies and concentration. On the other hand, some may claim that mixed schools help to enhance the social skills of students, and I agree. One reason is that co-education schools prepare children for the real world. In other words, when boys and girls, study together, they will have enough opportunities to communicate with each other. This will certainly benefit them in the future, especially when they work in sectors which involve both genders. Another reason why people have such a view is that boys and girls think differently. Each gender would have differing motions of thinking; hence, it can help children enrich their knowledge and broaden their horizons by absorbing various opinions. For instance, when male and female students have a group discussion, most female students can come up with creative ideas which is not common among male students. To sum up, although people may vary in their opinions, I think that students could expand more knowledge and skills when they study in a mixed school. If parents decided to enroll their children in a coeducation school, children would have a comfortable environment leading them to perform well in their studies.