Many employees can now do their work from home using modern technology. However, this change may only benefit workers, not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Working at home has gradually become a trend since the outbreak of COVID-19, and with the development of it, we are clearly aware that this trend is a double-edged sword for employers. On the one hand, it allows employees to allocate working time freely and thereby earns employers a good reputation; on the other hand, however, it seems to hinder the cultivation of team cohesion. A flexible allocation of working time is certainly popular among employees, and managers do not see any reason to object to it as long as schedules progress well. From this perspective, working at home is a reciprocal choice. And maybe this is the reason why more and more companies are adopting this arrangement. For example, the well-known semiconductor tycoons Intel and AMD have proclaimed that they have long approved working at home, and they have promised to supply all necessary equipment. Nevertheless, this trend has also brought about some concerns to employers. One of them is long-term separation would undermine team cohesion and therefore decrease collaboration efficiency. Relevant concerns have pervaded among the managers of large corporations. Consequently, the employers of Disney, Google, and Amazon have strongly suggested their staff work in the company at least twice a week. Seen from this angle, we can understand why some managers consider this trend as a potential threat to their companies. To summarize, allowing employees to work at home has both advantages and disadvantages for employers. On the one hand, it is helpful for managers to establish a democratic and considerate impression among employees. On the other hand, it to some extent jeopardises the unity of the company. Therefore, employers need to deliberate to achieve a balance between them.