Write about the following topic: Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Throughout my school years, many of my classmates face challenges in finding a balance between studying Chinese and English. Even after our formal education, the pursuit of knowledge in both linguistic subjects remains ongoing and never-ending. This raises the fact that English is being regarded as important as our local languages. In the 21st Century, English is universally accepted as a default language for international communication. This suggests that english holds an irreplaceable significance and one should accquire this langauge to catch up with the skyrocketing development and globalisation nowadays. Many professional fields whether it is scientists, architects, engineers use english to cooperate effectively and efficiently. Therefore, it is vital for genrations after generations to acquire English as the means of basic communication across countries and knowledge transferal, so that, the development of humanity would not be stagnated. However, local languages cannot be dismissed as they would always be the root of one nation’s culture, history and humanity. The development of one country mostly based on the accumulated efforts by our ancestors. They often marked their wisdom and knowledge in different media by using local languages and the recorded concpets concerts are cpmehow hard to translate into English. For example, Japanese cherish the concept of“MA”, a term meaning space in-between two-objects. Although it is widely understood by the Japanese when you say the word. However, it is hard for them to explicitly explain the meaning of the word to the foreighners. Because, it require the basic knowledge of Japanese grammar, that different from English, to comprehand the concept suggested by the word. The best way to ensure the survival of one languages, is to not interfere its exitence and where it come from. There is no languages superior than the one that has inherited over thousand of years by the locals. In conclusion, learning english could promote unity for people around the world and knowledge transferal. Yet, preserving local languages can maintain nation’s uniqueness and the inherited culture, art and history. All we have to do it to respect and admire the beauty of different culture, do not even try to assert superiority over the others.