In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that the rural areas are facing a declining trend in relation to the proportion of their residents as a vast majority of people from countryside are immigrating to big cities. I consider this development to be disadvantageous. There are various reasons why I see the above assertion as a negative pattern occurring in many parts of the world. Firstly, villages have been mostly proven to be the origin of a sheer culture and tradition of a nation in which maternal languages are being spoken and traditional events are being valued. However, the wide trend of leaving countryside would pose a threat to all of these precious heritages. Secondly, local businesses and rural-related careers like agriculture, farming, pastoral and so on, would disappear in the foreseen future if people continue travelling to big cities, bringing not only environmental damage but also organic food scarcity. Moreover, there would be also a lack of workforce if the young rural population tended to move to larger cities. Following this, never will be local schools stabilised due to the absence of young sophisticated teachers who have immigrated. From an opposite perspective, another consequence would be cities facing an increasing trend in their population which of course may lead to overpopulated-related issues. Finally, it requires much more investmenys investment from governments in terms of maintaining the remaining lives in countryside and also the range of facilities, infrastructures, and other social services in large cities. In conclusion, nowadays, it is becoming usual for people to leave their maternal hometown in order to take place in metropolitan areas which in my view is a negative development.