Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that an increasing number of individuals with health problems are opting alternative treatments instead of going to hospitals. In my opinion, this is a completely negative development because alternative medicines are not able to completely cure a disease and safety is not guaranteed. Using alternative remedies to cure people’s health problems, are not successful. This is becauses some medicines can reduce symptoms, but they can't make them disappear. This causes a big problem, if individuals notice that they are still sick, and they decide to go to the hospital. The doctor will tell them to do a body examination, but after taking medicines, this can lead to errors when analyzing, since the treatment that they had followed could conduct to omission or short-term disappearance of some indicators in the analysis. For example, 30 minutes after taking ibuprofen, the feeling of pain will directly disappear for some hours, but then it will start again, so for some diseases, this is not the best solution. The use of medicine that is not indicated by doctors, effectiveness and safety are not guaranteed. This is because people do not know what problem they have. So they will search on the internet for the disease and the solution, but the answers that they may found on the websites can be false, since some illnesses have the same symptoms. Then, people won’t treat their problems as important, risking their health and well-being. Recent research concluded that around 85% of people do not give importance to the diseases they have because they think the problem they have is not dangerous. In conclusion, taking medicines without doctor's permission, will not heal the illness completely and it can cause missunderstanding while taking analysis, therefore, I believe, this is a completely negative development.