The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

There has been a rise in the production of commodities that contribute to environmental degradation. This essay will first examine the underlying reasons behind this before proposing some viable solutions to alleviate it. The implications of consumer goods production on the environment are on the increase can be attributed to two main reasons. Chief among these is that manufacturing involves a huge collaboration of machinery and technology, allowing businesses to maximise their productivity. These equipments often require substantial amounts of energy, which is primarily derived from burning fossil fuel, contributing to global warming and air pollution consequently. Additionally, improper waste treatment can be detrimental to the natural environment, especially aquatic species. Once waste is dumped into rivers, it introduces dangerous chemicals and toxins into rivers, leading to water pollution. This will disrupt the food chain as a consequence of aquatic species being harmed. To effectively address the mounting issues of excessive production impacts on the natural environment, efforts are required at the governmental level. To cope with excessive energy consumption, the government could allocate subsidies for firms to invest in vital energy-saving and green technologies. Since eco-friendly technologies incur an intensive amount of money, government subsidies will reduce the costs of production to a certain extent and stimulate the use of green products. Another considerable method is to implement strict regulations on the disposal process. This will come with regular inspections and monitoring to ensure compliance. Therefore, those who violate the rules will be imposed fines or penalties, which serve as a deterrent to illegal waste dumping that engenders deterioration of environmental quality, possibly lowering impacts on the eco-system and environment. In conclusion, the increasing production of consumer goods is driven by extreme energy consumption and improper waste treatment. However, this problem is still positively soluble through government intervention such as subsidies to promote eco-friendly manufacture and strict regulations to minimise waste disposal into nature.