Nowadays,young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has become an increasing trend for adolescents to treat media and sports stars as their role models, largely influenced by the widespread pop culture around the world. However, considering the implications on the worldview of the youngsters, this development can only be seen as detrimental. To begin with, the fact that the majority of celebrities are in the entertainment industry indicates that their appearance contributes primarily to their reputation, resulting in young people focusing more on their own outlook instead of other traits, such as personality and intelligence. In other words, youngsters may be misled by the industry, believing that they can get a reputation and fortune as long as they become beautiful. For example, an increasing number of young people surge into plastic surgeries at an early age. Consequently, it is hard for them to concentrate on gaining knowledge and improving their abilities in their golden age. In addition, while it cannot be denied that the winding stories of some world-renowned actors and athletes can be encouraging to adolescents, a broad range of misbehaviour may negatively affect youngsters ' worldviews, preventing them from distinguishing right from wrong. For instance, when some juveniles see their icons drinking and smoking, they may intuitively conclude that these things are acceptable and worthy of trying, this is particularly the case when they are in need of the right guidance. In conclusion, the popularity of pop culture has given much attention to the celebrities in entertainment industry. It brings drawbacks to the development of youngsters in terms of shaping the right code of ethics. More healthy and righteous values ought to be emphasized to ensure the next generation is on the right way.