Some people think it is the government’s responsibility to tackle environmental issues. Others believe it is up to each individual to be environmentally responsible. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

Some individuals argue the authorities have to solve environmental problems, while others suppose that it is an individual choice to be environmentally responsible. This essay will firstly discuss the pro and contra views and finally, state why governments and individuals should collaborate to solve these problems. Governments have to concentrate the revenue of environmental taxes on big scale environmental problems. For instance, water pollution is a national environmental issue that requires the role of governments. To solve this problem governments have to make public policy about industrial waste limitation and do several concrete steps to purify water such as installing water purifier machines in polluted rivers and seas. Other national scale problems such as air pollution and deforestation also require big effort to solve either financially and legally. Therefore these problems are really hard to solve by individuals and need the government's presence. On the other hand, environmental problems due to household waste can only be solved if every individual takes real actions. The amount of plastic waste is increasing from day to day since people are always using plastic products due to their ease of use. To solve this problem we have to make concrete steps such as using biodegradable materials and recycling plastic waste. These steps only make an improvement if they are carried out on a large scale. Therefore it would be really hard to tackle environmental issues without individual responsibilities. In my view, governments and people have to collaborate to solve environmental issues quickly and effectively. Without people ’s support, governments will be overwhelmed since they have to give more energy to solve the same problems that people repeatedly make. Without governments ’ support, people only have a lack of resources to solve these problems. In conclusion, governments have to tackle big scale environmental issues since they need much effort. Moreover, an individual's awareness is really important to solve environmental problems due to household waste. In my opinion, governments and individuals should work together in order to solve these problems as soon as possible.