Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

A large part of the population thinks that it is a great idea to make teenagers work in their free time to benefit the local community. Personally, I could not disagree more due to the following reasons. Teenagers are too young to work and they have to enjoy their time, furthermore, it would not be very positive for the local land because of demotivation. Since time immemorial, young people used to work all day to help their families and earn some money or food, fortunately this is not the case today. Nowadays, teens prefer to enjoy youth with their family or friends hanging out, going to parties or only watching a film. Even if they have so much free time, it is the time to appreciate life because in some years they will be working everyday with few holidays. In addition, in their free time, study takes an important place too. According to Bruno Surroca, a Spanish teacher, teenagers are much happier in class when they are disconnected from their obligations during the weekend. The community always wants the best workers to achieve the objectives. In agreement with this, it could be a disadvantage to hire a young person because these people will often be more focused on other type of goals such as having fun, studying or getting a partner. Normally, they are not motivated, which can lead to a poor performance in work. For example, a survey made by the BBC, says that 90% of teens would not be willing to have a job in their spare time. To conclude, I think that it is not a good idea to make minors work due to their young age and lack of motivation to make these labours.