In many countries, the traditional family structure is changing, and an increasing number of children are being raised by single parents or by grandparents. Discuss the possible reasons for this trend and its potential consequences on society. Support your answer with relevant examples and evidence from your own experience or knowledge.

It is argued that in many nations, more and more children are raised by single parents or by grandparents. This essay would argue that the main reason for this development is that people give more importance to themselves and women are able to go out and look for a job. Nowadays, individuals thoughts have changed, they think that no one is more important than themselves. People do not want to be in a family where they are not happy or feel uncomfortable, they will prefer to have the divorce even if they have a child. While in the past, a lot of parents stayed together even they did not love each other. This was because their child was the most important person in their lives and they had to take care of their baby and did not want the baby to grow up without a "complete family". For example, before 2000, the rate of divorce in China was really low, since having a divorce meant a broken family, but in 2022 less people got married, and divorce rate increased around 70% compared with 2000. Another main reason is that women are able to look for a job. In the past, only a small proportion of women had a job, normally, they stayed at home cleaning, cooking, organising the house and as well as taking care of their children. Nowadays, there is gender equality, both men and women can work. So when a couple get married and have a child, it might be difficult for them to take care of their baby since they have to work. Then, the best option is to ask baby's grandparents to take care of the child. For instance, a large number of Chinese children are raised up by their grandparents or other family members, because their parents are carrying out a business and do not have enough time to take care of them. In conclusion, nowadays many children are raised by single parents and grandparents is because people put themselves in first place and women are able to work outside home.