Some people believe that the aging population is good for business, the economy and society. Others, however, disagree with this view. Discuss both views and give your opinion .

The accelerated increase of elderly people is believed to be beneficial for enterprises and society, whereas other people have opposite views. In my opinion, despite having both props and corns, the risks of aging population outperform its benefits. There are a variety of reasons to prevent that phenomenon. Firstly, the proliferation of individuals above 65 years old may put more pressure on the nations’ economy, especially those developing ones. Since governmental budget need to be allocated more on health services for elderly as well as welfare which may not only affect detrimentally on a thriving economy post pandemic but also deter the constructions of other types of infrastructures such as industrial plant or traffic foundation facilities. To illustrate, to address aging population, twenty-three projects associated to national defence and industry were postponed in Japan in 2021; these budget, instead, was spent on increasing welfare and hospital services. Consequently, it may put those undeveloped countries into a dilemma between rising elderly people life standard and prioritising economy growth. Secondly, the shortage of labour force may be ascribed to the rise of elderly. As high percentage of retired workers along with nurses serving them may lead to the lack of labour force in other strategical fields such as technology, heavy industry, finance, … For example, Japan and Western countries where 38 percent of native aged above 65 have lowered immigrated condition because of serious shortage of workers in these countries. Therefor, aging population is apparent to be a culprit for the lack of labour force. However, this trend still has some advantages. The most noticeable influence is that aging population might be a springboard for higher facility for the elderly. It is because, the ignorance to poor facilities and services for old people is prevalent due to the concentration of some nations, especially the developing ones on the growth of economy and technology. As a result, the high percentage of elderly combine with international agreements (Universal Declaration of Human Rights) may force authorities to increase elderly life standard. For instance, the Indian government promised to spend 5 billion dollar on the system of hospital last year. In conclusion, despite the chances to improve healthcare facilities, aging population might influence adversely on national economy, especially the undeveloped countries.