Today many people do not know their neighbours. What are the reasons and solutions for this issues.

Nowadays, a large individuals don't have understanding about people living around their residence. This essay discusses the reasons for the above and will also provides solution for this matter. Many civilians do not have much knowledge about their neighbours because they do not have time to interact with neighbours due to their tiring work schedule which leave them a little time. For example, a person working 14 hours a day would prioritize spending time with family; thus provides him an inadequate opportunities to know the neighbourhood. Moreover, people like to maintain privacy because of safety concerns. To illustrate, the neighbours in my city don't talk much with the others in their community because of vast media stories where many victims' neighbours were responsible for their murder or other heinous crimes. This sometimes creates fear in the minds of people to open up with neighbours. However, in order to understand the locals better, the community programmes and media could contribute significantly to forge a better bond within the people living in a neighbourhood. In my region, the residents not only celebrate famous festivals together, by gathering at a common place, but also exhange gifts and greetings. This should be adopted in other societies because it offers a good platform to know about someone. This public setting also provide a secure environment in light of imcreasing crime rate for those who take extreme precautions and avoid talking their neighbours. In addition to this, it is a responsibility of our media to demonstrate the positive sides of neighbours as well; not merely, TRP based exaggeration of neighbourhood crimes. In conclusion, I believe that the development of not knowing one's neighbour is because of busy schedule and an increasing sense of insecurity. However, encouraging public events aimed at gathering local community and proactive role of media to inculcate security among the general populace could solve this limitation.