Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It seems that there are little to no differences between each nation since similar products can be bought no matter where you live. Some people have a pessimistic opinion about this trend since it has negative effects on the country’s culture. While I believe that this opinion has credibility, its benefits such as better quality products and better understanding of other cultures are things needs to take into account. Some people argue that similarities in goods are detrimental to the country’s culture and traditions worldwide since it may lead to a loss of richness and diversity. Naturally, people are curious about things that they have never seen before and want to test if the international brands are better than their domestic brands or just simply want to experience other country’s food and clothes. For example, the demand for Korean instant noodles has increased rapidly since more and more people watch Korean dramas and movies and wonder how delicious can these noodles be that the actors slurped and devoured so satisfying. As a result, local brands like Hao Hao have to make more effort in marketing and manufacturing to compete with other famous brands in the market. In the long term, these local companies may suffer from a loss of customers and go bankrupt. If it is a traditional craft village that focuses on one product like Bat Trang pottery-making village, it is being difficult to maintain its production because its price usually higher than those that are made by machines in big corporations. And who knows, in the future, these craft villages may disappear and fall into oblivion. These elements, although small, help identify the nation and if all of them are gone, the character and uniqueness of a nation is lost along with its culture and traditions. However, many people agree that mass production brings numerous advantages for both of the exported countries and imported ones. First of all, many foreign companies produce better quality goods than the local ones since they have to undergo rigorous international standards before introducing to the consumers. In recent years, a more rigorous standard has been required for fruits to ensure they do not exceed the amount of pesticides and plant protection products. Therefore, governments and imported companies do not put people ’s heath at risk. Another benefit worth considering is that using the same technique, eating the same food might actually help people to know more about a country. While doing so, we can find out why this method can be applied under that condition or what are foreigners' tastes like. For example, rice is essential part of most Asian meals since it copes well with the tropical climate, which reflects a bit about the argiculture and the weather. To sum up, I would say globilaztion does cause problems by risking countries’ cultures and traditions but it also helps customers to have acccess to higher quality products and makes it easier to understand people from other countries by using things that they use daily. If we learn how to balance between the local and the international, people can all enjoy the benefits it brings with minimal damage.