Serious violent crimes among people who are under-18 are becoming more common. Some people think that children who commit serious crimes should be treated like adults, while others would say that they should be rehabilitated. Disucss both these views and give your own opinion.

Heinous crimes are increasing these days among the youth. While a section of society believes these children must be punished similarly to adults as they pose a serious threat to society. Others are of the view that they should be sent to rehabilitation centres. I believe later is the better option as these youngsters are not aware of their wrongdoings. On the one hand, minors should be sent to jail because of the nature of the crime. As these children have committed dangerous crimes and it is a possibility they will redo the same. Hence, there is always a danger to the society. Putting them behind bars will reduce the threat to the larger section. Apart from that, if they stay in jail they will not have the resources such as weapons to kill someone, keeping everyone safe. For example, the crime rate has significantly reduced in Europe as the authorities have taken stringent actions to curb violent activities amongst minors, which contributed to 15% of the total criminal activities On the other hand, some people opine these teenagers should be treated in child welfare centres because their mind is not fully developed yet. They are not even aware of the intensity of the situation and have done such crimes without thinking much. Moreover, it does not mean they have a criminal mind and they can become a responsible citizen in the future if they get the right environment. I completely agree with them because, these children are the future of our society, and nurturing them in a good environment and educating them with social values, will make them responsible citizens. For instance, it could be seen in the developed nations, children who once committed a violent act and were rehabilitated, have even become doctors and engineers and hence serving their nations. In conclusion, some people think that under-18 children committing violent crimes should be punished like grown-ups as society is not safe if we are surrounded by those child criminals, others have a view these young minds are not fully developed and should be treated in rehabilitation places for their development. I agree with the idea of sending them to rehabilitation centres because sending them to welfare homes, will make their lives better and they will come back to society as a better individual.