supermarket sells more import products than local products. explain the advantage and disadvantage

There are two main reasons why supermarkets are selling foreign products more. Firstly, because there is unbearable demand of customers that favor more quality product provided by import supplier than local ones provide and supermarkets sees that as an opportunity to gain more profit. Secondly, due to prices. Even though some stuffs are imported, surprisingly the price can be cheaper than locally produced items and it is reducing cost for supermarket. I personally agree with the decision of supermarkets to highlight more abroad products and assume it is a positive development. According to my experience, in reality, local manufacturer has never been serious to invent an innovation how to modify its product. For example, when I buy snacks from local producer, the taste is not varied. Unlike snacks from other countries, they make unlimited types of snacks that allow me to try each of them and the taste is unquestionable. Talking about prices, local market players are required to enlarge their research to reduce cost while stay competitive in the food market, due to the fact that big importers are capable to sell similar product yet cheaper price. For customer with cost-efficient mindset would not be hesitated to go after more economist option. To conclude, the way supermarket chooses to sell foreign dominant products is not entirely wrong. The aim is to upscale the level of competition to local producers. Local producers should bear in mind that imported items will not always be a threat, on the contrary can be inferred as a benchmark on how to generate better product with cost-efficient product to deliver to customers.