In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Despite international tourism has been a relevant income for the economy of a vast of countries, it has also produced disadvantages. I consider that drawbacks such as gentrification, and the loss of biodiversity surpass the benefits of economic growth. Firstly, many citizens cannot afford expensive products or services and prices increased as a result of a process of gentrification. Indeed, tourists that prefer to visit countries with a low economic capacity, generally generate that the prices of necessities such as food, clothing, transportation, and even housing increase. For instance, in the last years, heaps of cities in Latin America like Medellin and Ciudad de Mexico have been experiencing this phenomenon, and the local people have had to change not only the place they used to live, but also their gastronomy, and activities that they can not perform. Moreover, the constant presence of tourists interferes with the natural recuperation of different environments, affecting the state of the fauna and flora. As a consequence, those places begin to accumulate pollution, and species no longer find them as a habitat. However, it is well known that tourism can contribute to the internal economy of a country, as the demand for products and services generates new job positions. For example, in coastal places like Cartagena, many locals take advantage of the number of travelers, and offer services related to food, historical, and ecological tours, increasing the economic growth. To conclude, some disadvantages include the social problems generated as a result of the presence of great quantities of tourism and the lack of ecological tourism that overlooks the economic benefits obtained from international tourism.