Some people say that the best way to improve health is by increasing the number of sports facilities.Others,However,say that this woud have little effect on public health and that other measure are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

To improve public health some people suggest that the sports can play a vital role. It is said that “ Healthy mind is in a Healthy body”. By increasing the number of sports facilities we can create an environment of courage, sportsmanship, and tolerance. The minds of youth can also be directed towards healthy activities through sports promotion. However, some people believe that sports facilities alone are not sufficient to improve public health. There are many socio-economic factors that gravely affect the public health, such as water & sanitation, rampant population & pollution, lack of hygienic manners and social unrest. These factors need to be addressed to improve overall public health. In my opinion, in a country like Pakistan, where people are living under the “shadow of fear” due to prevailing terrorism in the country we need a diverse approach. Speaking of flourishing poverty, inflation, and unemployment – availing sports facilities could be a luxury. And then there is a vast majority of areas deprived of basic health facilities, where one doctor is available for thousands of people. Sports can play a role but only if people are content with their lives. There is a dire need for government to take solid actions to improve the general well-being of the people. Firstly, it must improve the security situation in the country to give peace of mind to the public. Secondly, it must improve water & sanitation system and must put a serious check on pollution increase and should take steps to reduce poverty, illiteracy and unemployment. Thirdly, the society must improve general hygiene level to have a positive impact on overall public health.