In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In some countries, teenagers are advised to have a year gap for working or traveling before starting university studies. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also be drawbacks. On the one hand, using a gap year to work and travel would bring about several advantages. One evident strength is that it would help them have more experience to support their studies. In other words, if they find an appropriate job with their major, they will have more time to try and gain experience. It means that they have time to prepare for their essential skills, such as communication and financial management. Another reason is that it would help them have time to prepare financially. To study at university requires a large amount of money. If they spend all of their time working, they can earn some money for college. Another way, they can use this time for finding scholarships that can help make their tuition more adorable. On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages to the gap year trend. The most negative side of a gap year is wasting time. When students start a year gap without any clear plan, they easily get discouraged because they are not compelled to follow any certain schedule. Thus, they may become lazy and not want to do anything during their gap year, which leads to a lot of downtime watching TV and playing games. An additional drawback of this trend is that students may lose their motivation in studies after a gap year. They are likely to be away from academic studies for so long that they may forget a few lessons and find it difficult to catch up with university courses. As a result, they are no longer interested in studying. In conclusion, having a gap year helps students have a good background for their studies and they can prepare full funds before starting college. But it wastes their time and makes them lose motivation to study. I think if they choose to take a year, they should create a clear plan what they should do within a year to avoid wasting time, money and effort