Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, using smartphones are an inseparable part of our lives particularly for children. Some of them spend hours daily on their digital gadgets. There are several reasons for this which I would explain some of them below. The family environment Is one of the first reasons for this phenomenon. More working parents and less family time make children spend more hours alone, so they fill their time with their smartphones. Instead of gathering together or playing face-to-face with peers, they communicate with each other online. On the other hand, tech companies invest greatly in gaming industry. High graphic designs and attractive visual effects fascinate children to play these games regularly. Although some of them are practical for young ages people, which can teach them many things such as color diagnosing, basic mathematics, focus and concentration, dictation, etc…. But these hours that are spent should be limited and monitored by parents. Spending too much time playing games or surfing the internet without control would affect badly on both their bodies and minds. Inactivity and increasing violence are two examples of these effects. Moreover, the homework and school projects could be another reason why young ages individuals spend their times using digital gadgets. Today, online data such as e-books, learning applications, educational websites, etc… are very popular among them. However, the correct method of using internet should be taught in schools. In conclusion, I think this happening has both positive and negative effects, but it can turn to a positive development if it would be taught and controlled by parents and teachers.