Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary societies, the average life expectancy has been increasing. Some groups of individuals claim that this is in alignment with a substantial number of benefits. However, other groups hold the opposite view, believing that the aged generation causes issues. I completely agree with the former perspective, and in the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on the reasons behind my viewpoint. Those in favor of the benefits of older people argue that they possess a substantial amount of experiences in the various fields that are able to convey to the next generation, leading to a surge in the number of successful people with the tremendous skills and knowledge gained from their ancestors. A 2019 experiment conducted by the BBC, assessed the rate of employment in two different groups, one without any knowledge, on the contrary, the other was trained by a retired group. The results revealed an 80% increase in the latter group. Consequently, if the older generation transfers their expertise to the next ones, the society will witness an increase in their successful people, fostering their improvement in the numerous fields. On the other hand, I acknowledge the view, emphasizing on the negative side of this transformation. Undeniably, the more aged people in a country, the more funds should be allocated to the healthcare system. Therefore, a nation might face the pecuniary problems due to the soared healthcare demands required for older people. Recent research highlighted an 50% increase of needed money for treating the older people in a country with the average living age of 80 years compared to the other with 60 years. Notwithstanding, if a government has enough infrastructures in this field, they will be able to manage this problem without any baleful outcomes. To sum up, it is important to consider the disadvantages of aging population, such as an increase in healthcare demands. However, the valuable expertise conveyed to the next generation by them is undeniable. Thus, I firmly agree that the older generation brings more benefits compared to the drawbacks.