Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

These days, there is a growing number of visitors exploring difficult tourist destinations. The main benefits of this phenomenon are attracting new foreign tourists and creating new income sources for locals. However, this also possesses some negative impacts such as this journey costs an arm and leg and risking their health. On the positive side, this trend creates new destinations and invites foreign visitors. This is to say that locals could offer facilities such as accommodations and transportation to reach the location. This will increase the local residents’ income because more people are willing to pay to experience the extraordinary destinations. For example, upon travellers’ arrival at China airport, they should continue to travel by vehicle and a lot of local travel agent offers this service. Even though these new tourist locations bring benefits, people who want to experience these unordinary vacations should pay a lot of money. This is because these destinations are virtually located far away from the residential areas, thus they need to pay more for transport fees. In addition, the places have extreme weather, hence they need safety equipment designed particularly for these conditions. To be able to enjoy the trip, one should be healthy and have a fit body. Otherwise, they will face hypothermia or excessive dehydration and cannot continue the trip. For instance, climbing the Himalayas requires strong physics due to difficult terrains and a few of the climbers were reported missing or died because of hypothermia. In conclusion, going on a trip to extreme destinations brings benefits in opening up new tourist attractions and contributes to locals’ incomes. Nevertheless, choosing these extraordinary vacations costs people a fortune and risks peoples’ health.